A few shots with the venerable Polaroid 180

untitled-1-big

untitled-2-big

untitled-3-big2

These were shot with the Polaroid 180, considered to be the top-end Polaroid instant camera, with it’s impressive Tominon 114mm lens, Zeiss viewfinder/rangefinder, and fully manual operation. I haven’t used this camera nearly as much as I should. It’s fun to use, and the results are impressive.

These were shot on Fuji FP-3000B instant black & white film, and scanned on my flatbed Epson V-500. I boosted the contrast a little in Lightroom and removed a few dust specs from the scanning.

I’ve been considering selling this camera, since it’s quite valuable and I haven’t been using it much, but I’m gonna put at least one more pack of film through it first.  Maybe by then I’ll be hooked and won’t want to part with it though.

About the Polaroid 180

p.s. – Back when I first started this blog I did a little experimenting and found that when WordPress scales images down to fit the blog post, they get a little bit softer looking than if I exported the images from Lightroom at the exact size that they would display.  I’ve decided that despite this, I’m going to start uploading my photos at a larger size so you can click on them to see them larger.  I did that with these, so you can click to zoom.

3 Comments on “A few shots with the venerable Polaroid 180”

  1. Love film, love these pics, love your blog!!

    • Rick Schuster says:

      Thanks, Natasha! I’ll have to take a look at your blog, too — it looks good.

      • Thank you. I prefer to shoot with film but all images on here are digital. Hope I can get more into some of the cameras like on your blog later on though. Right now just using a 35mm and black and white film, mostly for school :/


Leave a Reply

