Apple Orchard – Super Ricohflex

untitled-4

Shot with my wonderfully ever-unpredictable Super Ricohflex.

I love nearly everything about this camera, including it’s swirly circular bokeh (see background of apple photo below) and odd focus problem that throws parts of the images into focus that shouldn’t be. Look closely at the bottom photo for one example of this — the image is focused right around the kids, but an area very close to the camera in the lower-left corner of the photo is also in focus. I see this in many images from this camera when focused in the distance. I’m guessing that the lens is slightly tilted, thus acting a little like a tilt-shift lens. The fact that the lens focuses by turning probably adds to the randomness of where in each image that odd focusing occurs.

These were shot on Portra 160 and developed and scanned by Precision Photo. Nice high-res 5000 x 5000 pixel scans.

untitled-1

untitled-2

untitled-3

untitled-5

10 Comments on “Apple Orchard – Super Ricohflex”

  1. Mike says:

    That’s a spectacular chicken, and the Portra 160 seems perfect for the season.

  2. Stephan Pot says:

    A great portrait, the chicken is really ‘dressed’ for posing in awesome images.

    • Rick Schuster says:

      Thanks! I like that I could easily get the camera down low with a TLR for a good eye-level view of the chicken.

  3. CHD says:

    I love the apple picture.

  4. jim says:

    Lovely OOF rendering with the Ricohflex.

    A few questions if you please…

    Did Precision Photo scan as JPEGs or TIFF’s this time? After reviewing the few places I’ve sent film to they seem to be the best. I’ve been putting together a price list of cost to develop and scan 35 and 120 film at a few labs. 120 seems to be $16-$20 roll depending on scan size. Dwayne’s is the cheapest I’ve used at $7/roll.

    What are you rating your 160 at and are you incident metering?

    Just came across https://thedarkroom.com/ – ever heard of them or used them? Their “enhanced” 2048×3072 scans are $15/roll.

    • Rick Schuster says:

      Thanks, Jim. Happy new year.
      Precision provided the scans as JPGs. They’re 5074 x 5078 pixels (though that included a bit of black border outside the frame), so great resolution. I can’t judge quality of the scans super well from these because the camera just isn’t as sharp as if I had shot these with my Rolleicord, but zooming in on the scans seems to reveal some nice film grain with only a hint of JPG artifacts. The files came in at 22 to 25 MB in size, so I don’t think the JGPs are compressed too much.
      I’m impressed with Precision’s scans, especially considering the price of $11.99 per roll, including developing:
      http://www.precision-camera.com/ultra-high-resolution-scans-120-color-film/
      That’s the cheapest I’ve found for that kind of resolution. Unfortunately with black and white film they don’t include free development — only C-41. At $12, I think I’ll start using them instead of Dwayne’s because the increased resolution is worth an extra $4 a roll to me.
      The quality of scans from Dwayne’s is good though, even though the resolution is lower.
      I’ve not tried the darkroom yet.
      I kept the Portra rated at 160. I don’t recall how I was metering this day, but with Portra I often just guess exposure using ‘sunny-16’ rule since Portra is known for it’s forgiveness. Or I may have used my iphone lightmeter app. But I think this day I was probably using my handheld Gossen Luna Pro, in incident mode. Since the light wasn’t changing much that day, I probably would have metered once and used that reading for all the shots.

      • jim says:

        Rick, a Happy New Year to you as well. Thanks for the information and the link.

        From what I can gather they are giving a deal to RFF members. They did that when I first started using them then seemed to stop. Perhaps it’s back on.

        On page 15 of http://www.precision-camera.com/content/labpdf/PCV_LabBook.pdf the roll film “high” scan option lists jpg or tiff options where medium or ultra-high do not. I’d rather have a smaller TiFF than a bigger JPEG. I’ll have to give them a call to confirm. The scan dimensions they sent you back don’t match anything they list on their site

        The real deal is with the 120 film. For $12 that’s $8 off their listed price for developing and ultra scanning 120 film.

  5. jim says:

    Rick,

    I called Precision Camera and spoke with their lab manager, Rene. The time it takes to scan TIFF files for “Ultra” scans is the reason they only offer JPEGs as an option.

    I pitched the idea of also offering their “High” scan TIFF files for RFF members. He said he would pass it along to the owners for consideration and took my number and email address.


Leave a Reply

