Autumn trees – Mamiya 645

untitled-6

While grouse hunting in October in northern Minnesota, I created this image of birch trees against the fall foliage by purposely panning the camera vertically hand-held. I think it was about a 1/2 sec exposure with fairly fast panning. I only shot one of these and didn’t know how much blurring would occur. The resulting image has a really interesting look that is not quite what I expected, and is different than what I’ve gotten doing similar shots with a digital camera.

Shot with my Mamiya 645, of which I have not yet written a detailed review. Nice camera though. Info to come.

Shot on Kodak Ektar 100, developed and scanned by Precision Camera (see previous post). The image below is a crop of part of the same image to show the detail of the very interesting and pleasing blur. I could probably crop a whole series of interesting images from this one shot.

untitled-1

While I’m at it, why not crop in tighter to show you the film grain captured in the scan:

untitled-1-2

4 Comments on “Autumn trees – Mamiya 645”

  1. ANALOG says:

    I love analog photography. I’m very interested to hear what you have to say off the 645. I recently acquired a mamiya 645 that was barely used. I have yet to shoot a roll on it, but will take care of this over Xmas. I was excited to find your blog and look forward to readings. -Ian. Smash The State, Love Your Neighbour, Take Pictures.

    • Rick Schuster says:

      Enjoy the 645. I think they’re great cameras. One thing I’ve noticed is that I get a little softness in my images if I try to handhold it at 1/30 sec or maybe even at 1/60. I think that big mirror flipping up makes the camera vibrate a bit, so if you’re hand-holding it you may want to go with faster film, like 400, so you can shoot at higher shutter speeds.

      • Tina says:

        Also interested in your thoughts on the 645!
        Used one of these like 10 years ago, loved the thing.
        Now a friend lets me use his, it’s like re-connecting with a former love.

        Only little grief is I’m running a (converted) 220 insert, with 120 film – let’s see..

        • Rick Schuster says:

          Hi Tina. It is a great camera, but I haven’t used mine a lot. I’ve had some problems with the shutter not always firing, and I haven’t figured out what the problem is — I think it might just be that it needed a fresh battery. I should take it off the shelf and use it more, because it is a beautiful camera.


Leave a Reply

