Another Nordeast stroll with the Rolleicord III

untitled-5 untitled-2 untitled-3 untitled-4 untitled-6 untitled-7 untitled-8

OK, blog – I’m back.

Shot on Fuji Neopan Acros 100 film with the Rolleicord III.

You’ll recognize this location if you’ve read this blog before.  It’s an area in NE Minneapolis where I sometimes have a little time to walk around while my son is in a class.  For me this is an unbeatable location for looking for interesting shapes and compositions.  A perfect way to spend an hour on a nice evening is to load up a medium format camera and walk around slowly looking for those twelve exposures to strike my eye.  Having a full hour to shoot twelve exposures is a fantastic exercise in constraint, patience and focus – though when it comes to shooting film that can actually seem like a lot of shots to allow yourself in an hour.

If I’m in the mood for shooting sharp images with a camera I’m fully comfortable with, I usually find myself reaching for the Rolleicord.  Of the cameras I own, it can’t be beat for reliability, sharp optics, solid feel – it’s a camera that builds confidence.

Developed and scanned by Precision Camera and Video in Austin, TX.  This is the first time I’ve tried Precision, and I’m pleased with the results of the scans.  The black and white scans are extremely sharp, though there are a lot of dust spots to clean up (I actually think this is good though, because I think some other shops use dust removal software that results in softer images – in many cases I’d rather do some dust spotting in Lightroom or Photoshop in exchange for the sharpest possible scan where you can really see the film grain when you zoom in).  I also had them do a couple rolls of color and my initial reaction is that they’re a great value for high resolution scans.  I’ve had some experience now with several labs for developing and scanning, and I think I’ll write a little post soon about my experiences and a bit of a comparison.

2 Comments on “Another Nordeast stroll with the Rolleicord III”

  1. jim says:

    Rick, nicely seen images. I have a Rolleiflex 3.5 E (type 2) from the late 50’s, which I picked up nearly 30 years ago. Had it overhauled and a new screen installed about 10 years ago.

    I would love to use it more. In the quest for a lab I sent 2 rolls of 6×6 and a roll of 35mm film to Richard Photo Lab. I was disappointed in how they turned out. Had them use the Frontier scanner. After talking with them they are rescanning a handful of images on their Noritsu, which is the machine they recommended. Yet to see how those turned out.

    I’ve sent a few rolls to Precision in Austin. They seem to be the best lab I’ve used yet. Dwayne’s was disappointing. I liked that Precision scanned in TIFF format. I believe they also scan on a Noritsu. Richard’s scans to jpegs. Looking forward to your lab reviews.

    One request. Please make your clickable images bigger. Would love to see them BIG!

    • Rick Schuster says:

      Hi, Jim. thanks for the comment. That Rolleiflex would be a great camera.

      I see from the metadata on the scan files that the Precision scans are on a Noritsu QSS-32_33 scanner, and the scans from North Coast Photo are done on the exact same model of scanner. My scans from Precision were saved as JPEG, but they were high quality JPEGs, so I don’t think it mattered much. The scans from Dwayne’s don’t contain scanner info in the metadata. I’ve been pretty happy with Dwayne’s scans for the price, though they’re low resolution.

      I hear you about the image size on my blog. I was thinking the same thing when I posted these ones. When I started this blog I found that the images looked soft when wordpress scaled them down to fit the blog layout, so I started exporting them from Lightroom at exactly the size they would be displayed. I should test this again to see if it is still true or if they’ve improved their scaling. Or I should change the whole blog layout to use larger images.

      Rick


Leave a Reply

