Stone Arch Bridge – Seagull 4B

Seagull 4B

As explained in the previous post, I won this camera from the Film Photography Podcast (thanks again, guys!!!!). This Chinese camera is kind of a low-end twin-lens reflex, with a bit of a soft lens, but overall it has a pretty well-built feel and is easy and fun to use. If you want to try out medium format photography with a TLR, and found one of these for a good price, this would be a fine way to start. You could probably pick up one of these for the price of one of the popular plastic toy cameras. It was likely modeled after a Rolleiflex or Rolleicord or maybe a YashicaMat, but it’s definitely not of the same high quality as these German and Japanese standard-bearers.

I like the results, though.  The images are pretty sharp, without too much softness around the edges. The only negative thing I have to say is that the out-of-focus quality (or bokeh) in some images is not as pleasing as in images from some other cameras for some reason. If I knew more about lenses I could probably tell you why, but I’ll just say that I can see a difference between the blurred areas in some of these photos, and those in images takes with other cameras like my Rolleicord. Instead of a pleasing rounded blur, there seems to be a directional, oblong blur, especially in blurred areas toward the edge of the image.

I look forward to using it some more.

2 Comments on “Stone Arch Bridge – Seagull 4B”

  1. Ted says:

    I like your results. What films where you using?


Leave a Reply

