Pillsbury A Mill – “A” for Automatic?

I’ve begun the expansion of my Kodak Retina collection, this time with a non-folding variety from the 1960’s. I’ve been so pleased with the performance of my Retina IIIc, that I’d like to collect more of these German-made gems.  This one is an auto-exposure rangefinder that uses a selenium-cell lightmeter to operate in shutter-priority auto-exposure mode, or may be operated in fully manual mode, with the light-meter reading available on top of the camera for reference.  A remarkable thing (to me, at least) about it is that it takes no batteries.

Kodak Retina Automatic III

It’s a fun camera to use, and I’ll be shooting more with it.  I’ve only shot one roll so far, so it’s hard for me to judge how well the lens performs compared to the IIIc, but the results look pretty good.  In the photos of the block wall, there appears to be very little distortion, and very little softness at the edges, though the sharpness is a little hard to judge as I didn’t get terribly high-resolution scans made.  The results look good to me, though.

More info about this camera

These were shot on Kodak Portra 400.

One Comment on “Pillsbury A Mill – “A” for Automatic?”

  1. Jim says:

    Nice results from this Retina. Makes me hanker for one!


Leave a Reply

