Argus C3 “Brick” first shots

Argus C3

These are from the first roll of film I put through my 1950 Argus C3 “brick”.

I found the camera a little difficult to use, so it didn’t inspire a lot of creativity in my shooting. I was so focused on just getting everything set properly to take a shot, that I found it hard to focus on the image I was creating. The camera is quite capable of taking high-quality images though, and if I were to spend more time shooting with it I’m sure I’d reach a comfort level that would result in better shots.

I was shooting without a light meter for the outdoor shots, simply estimating the exposure using the ‘sunny 16’ rule. They were shot on Kodak Portra 400 (this film’s large exposure latitude no doubt helped with my exposure guesses), and since the max shutter speed on this camera is 1/300 second, most of the outdoor shots were at the smallest aperture of f/16.  The photo of the tomato plant and the close-up of the tree trunk were shot at larger apertures, showing a shorter depth-of-field, and nice ‘bokeh’, or blur quality, from the 10-blade aperture.  The dusk shot with the moon was hand-held at probably 1/10 sec, resulting in some motion blur.

Learn more about this camera here

3 Comments on “Argus C3 “Brick” first shots”

  1. Jim says:

    I have three Bricks (one a MatchMatic) here and now you’re making me want to dust one of them off and try shooting with it again. I had the same experience with my first one as you did here — it took too much time getting everything set properly to take the shot, and so I focused more on that than on composition.

  2. Mike says:

    Those are excellent results from the C3. Next time I see someone complaining about soft images from the Cintar I’m going to send them here.

    During its long life the C3 appeared in quite a few Hollywood productions. I saw one yesterday when I watched the beginning of “Niagara” with Marilyn Monroe from 1953.

  3. lee says:

    Hi. I stumbled upon your blog after a quick google search on Argus C3. I got hold of a brick a few days ago and I did some test shots with it. I really agree that it is quite a pain to use but I managed to have a few good shots from my first two rolls. I just used an ordinary expired Fuji Asa 100 film.

    I just posted a blog entry on my Argus C3 experience 🙂


Leave a Reply

