Yashica Electro 35 GS takes a walk around Chicago

My 1970’s Yashica Electro 35 GS rangefinder walked around with me earlier this spring in Chicago, and proved itself a capable old photo-taking tool.

I was in Chicago with my family over my son’s spring break, and was lucky enough to have the timing of the trip coincide with the Vivian Maier photo exhibit at the Chicago Cultural Center. Actually, it wasn’t all luck. I had learned about the exhibit, and that was what first prompted me to suggest that we travel to Chicago over spring break. Chicago is always a great place to visit, but that photo exhibit made it even better.

Yashica Electro 35 GS

The indoor photos above are from the atrium of the Chicago Cultural Center, which was originally the public library, built in the 1890’s.

The photos were shot on Fujicolor 200, with the Yashica Electro 35 GS.  The wide maximum aperture of f/1.7 proved itself very valuable shooting in the existing light of the atrium, lighted by it’s Tiffany glass dome and some non-so-bright old lamps.  And the built-in light meter with automatic exposure proved itself quite capable in widely varying lighting situations.

One Comment on “Yashica Electro 35 GS takes a walk around Chicago”

  1. jimi says:

    Lovely photos. I was curious to see some low light indoor photos w/ this RF. I just processed my first roll of film from a GSN and I don’t get them back until Monday. I went to NCPS so I am happy to read what you said about their budget scans


Leave a Reply

